There Wasn’t Blood

Given the rhetoric that’s found it’s way into the media regarding the Sublette 9 proposal for revenue sharing, you can understand why new Sublette Examiner Editor Ron Aiken chose to title his editorial in the March 22nd edition “There Will Be Blood”; perhaps a deft allegory to the 2007 film of the same name (I drink your milkshake).

And perhaps the timing of the editorial may have been in response to the public meetings that were scheduled by both school districts this week.  I can’t speak for the meeting at Sublette 9, but there certainly wasn’t blood at our meeting Tuesday night.  It was, in my opinion, a highly professional and respectful affair.  And that has to be attributed to all speakers, both Red and Green.

It was also obvious that not much has changed in the way that both sides view the issue.  That’s probably not surprising to most.  But if there’s a significant takeaway from this, it’s that regardless of wherever we go next and whatever the outcome, collectively we have the capacity to do this with similar decorum.

My sincere thanks to all of the participants at our Community Impact Meeting.  We proved that we can disagree without being disagreeable and that there doesn’t have to be blood.

About Jay Harnack

Superintendent of Sublette County School District #1
This entry was posted in Sublette 9 Proposal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There Wasn’t Blood

  1. Heidi Gay says:

    I was at the meeting in Pinedale and I just wanted to comment that I was so very impressed with how that meeting was handeled.. I too was worried it would get out of hand but I was please with how you (the Superintendent and school board) ran the meeting. I am still a bit confused as to where the money comes from. Does it not come from the extra taxes we pay in Sublette School Dist #1? If so, can Dist #9 also impose the same kind of tax that can be used for the same programs??
    Again, thank you for a wonderful meeting. I greatly apprecaite the things that this school district does for me and for my family.

    Heidi Gay

    • Jay Harnack says:

      Heidi,

      The money comes from two optional mills (BOCES and REC) that are levied by the individual school districts. This is not county money. The majority of all tax revenues generated for all taxing bodies in Sublette county come from the energy industry, but individual taxes are a small part of the whole. Yes, District 9 could increase their mills for BOCES to increase their revenues. Up to two additional mills.

      Jay

Comments are closed.